EuroCC: a new network of national HPC competence centres

Author: Mark Sawyer
Posted: 16 Nov 2020 | 14:07

EuroCC will raise participating countries to a common high level in high-performance computing (HPC), high-performance data analytics (HPDA), and artificial intelligence (AI).

National Competence Centres (NCCs) will be responsible for surveying and documenting the core HPC, HPDA, and AI activities and expertise in each participating country. The ultimate goal is to make HPC available to different users from science, industry, public administration, and society.

EPCC will work in collaboration with the Hartree Centre to implement the UK NCC and to coordinate services such as business development, application support, technology transfer, training and education, and access to expertise. Researchers from academia and industry both benefit from this competence concentration, and more efficient research ultimately benefits state and national governments and society as a whole.


CASTIEL, the Coordination and Support Action (CSA) closely associated with EuroCC, combines the EuroCC National Competence Centres into a pan-European network. As a hub for information exchange and training, CASTIEL promotes networking among NCCs and strengthens idea exchange by developing best practices. 

The aggregation of HPC, HPDA, and AI competencies demonstrates the global competitiveness of the EU partners. The two activities are the beginning of a strategic positioning of the European HPC competence and will contribute to the comprehensive independence of these technologies in Europe.  

Funded jointly by the European Commission and national governments, the network was launched in September 2020. 



Mark Sawyer, EPCC


Blog Archive